Mysterious hum in latest voice over

A forum to share ideas and opinions on the equipment and technical aspects of film, video and AV making.
Peter Stedman

Mysterious hum in latest voice over

Post by Peter Stedman »

When making my voice overs I always do it the same way. I use my Sennheiser ME66 mic into the Sony HXR-NX3 camera. Results always please me but I’m no audio expert. When making videos for You Tube, I always send the link to a colleague for proof viewing/listening. Yesterday he phoned to say that my latest effort had a distinct hum coming in just prior to my VO clips and ending just after.

I viewed the video on YT via two PCs and my laptop and heard no hum. I double-checked the project on the PC. No problem at all. I made a DVD of the video plus another but without the background music. I played these on my various players and still no hum. Today I visited my colleague to hear for myself this mysterious hum and there it was clear on his Apple machine. He played my DVD and that also produced the hum. Then I called on another friend and he listened to the DVD and the VT video. No hum can be detected.

Well there’s the mystery. Just so that you can hear for yourself here is the YT link. It’s unlisted so only those with the link can view. I’m not asking for comments on the actual video, but can any of you hear this mysterious hum that comes in just prior to me speaking and ands after the end of the clip? Any answer to the mystery?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gBZt3HpTCN8

Thanks for your interest. Pete.
Roy1

Re: Mysterious hum in latest voice over

Post by Roy1 »

HI Pete, Can't hear any hum and I turned the volume full up. Maybe it's your friends equipment.
TimStannard

Post by TimStannard »

Peter, I can hear it clearly on both headphones and PC speakers.