Copying from Humax HD digital PVR

A forum to share ideas and opinions on the equipment and technical aspects of film, video and AV making.
Peter Copestake

Copying from Humax HD digital PVR

Post by Peter Copestake »

Should it be possible to copy from our Humax PVR to an external hard drive via a USB cable or does one need to put programmes on a computer hard drive first? It looks as if it's going to work but then stops.
Sorry to have to ask here but Humax does not respond.
Thanks,
Peter.
Peter Copestake
granfer

Re: Copying from Humax HD digital PVR

Post by granfer »

I'm a TV Engineer, not a Computer Wizard, but my understanding of USB connections on Humax PVRs is that they are NOT for transferring Data. Your Instruction Book should clarify this; if there is no Instruction as to how to do it, it is not possible!
Certainly on mine it isn't; the USB socket has been included for "POSSIBLE future uses"

Output is Analogue via Scart. There is also an HDMI output for "upscaled" Digital.
If you have a Digital Capture card you may be able to use this... but don't quote me!
Peter Copestake

Thanks, Granfer. My book says - "USB port. Connect a USB storage device."

Peter.
Peter Copestake
granfer

Post by granfer »

Which model have you?
Peter Copestake

HDR-FOXT2 with, I think, 500Gig HD. Should be plenty of course but we do like to watch 'repeats' when we want to.
Peter.
Peter Copestake
granfer

Post by granfer »

My Humax is a Terrestrial model and not HD, so earlier comments are probably not valid.
Are you trying to record direct from the HD tuner onto an external hard drive? If so, there might be a clue in this review....
http://www.techradar.com/reviews/audio- ... cleContent

which contains the following words..