Editing Software - What do you use?

A forum to share ideas and opinions on the equipment and technical aspects of film, video and AV making.
stingman

Editing Software - What do you use?

Post by stingman »

Dear all fellow film-makers,
I was just wondering what Editing Software you all use and if you liked it and how you got on with it.

I use Premiere Pro (I have PremPro2, but cannot use this yet because of computer hardware). I love this programme as it does everything I need. I can do PIP and Blue screen, great transitions and I have even imported extra transitions to use with it. What I don`t like about it is it takes a really long time to Render an hour DVD in `Export to DVD` Hours spring to mind!
The quality of the finished film is really good. The programme can be as simple or as hard as you like because you have soo much features to play with and adjust. I am still learning from it and i`ve been using it for over 3 years.
All the other editing programmes seem a bit too simple and basic for me. They all look prety with there coloured designed layout and graphics but with Premiere you have even got adjustment with the layout and what you have display. I use two moniters so I can have one for the output and the other has the workings and timeline on.
If it was a woman, then it`s the Pam Anderson of the editing world. Sexy and ........ Better stop there...! :oops: :wink: :D
Once you can do the basics then it is really easy to use. My friend asks me to edit all his multi camera shoots as it`s really easy to do as all the camera footage can be in there own tracks on the timeline, upto 99 tracks I believe. I have had about 18 video tracks in one of my productions. Even this is easy. My friend says ` You`ve got premiere`! enougth said.
I`ve tried the basic editors and find them really hard to use for what I want.

So you can see how exsited I am with Premiere, did I mention Pam Anderson....... Oh yes I did! :wink: