What baffled you when you began filming?

A warm welcome to all. Here we talk about films, which people put onto YouTube or Vimeo and embed here. The idea is to allow useful, friendly discussion.
Dave Watterson

What baffled you when you began filming?

Post by Dave Watterson »

There's a good idea kicking around ... a section of this forum designed to help complete beginners.

I know we all help each other anyway, regardless of whether the problem is a simple or complex one ... we are all aware of our weaknesses in one area or another ... but for the first months of having a camcorder and starting to make "real" movies, people often feel reluctant to ask questions.

How can we best help?

Can you give me some ideas for introductory topics / ideas / areas we could cover?

Obviously once it is up-and-running such a section of the forum will shape itself round the points made by its users. but we could "seed it" a bit ...

What puzzled you most when you began? What are the most common questions you hear from beginners?

Dave
billyfromConsett

Re: What baffled you when you began filming?

Post by billyfromConsett »

I started what I'd call film-making when I bought a DV500 edit card and Adobe Premiere 5.

The biggest challenge I had was how to use Premiere, and that's where Newcastle ACA were able to help. They organised a presentation with a computer connected to the projector - and it got me on my way. So I joined up.

Currently I'm trying to help a friend use Sony Vegas 9 to edit AVCHD - which I've never used before myself. So it's like being back at square one. If anyone's got tips for that - as its not like Premiere - I'm all ears.
tom hardwick

Post by tom hardwick »

Complete beginners? I'd start off with a basic camcorder course. Without decent footage to begin with there'll be no editing worth doing, no audience awake, nothing worth keeping.

So off the top of my head my 12 point plan would go like this.